Experience the royal and luxurious lives of the Indian kings by travelling in the most comfortable train in India, the Maharajas Express. The Maharajas Express is one of the most expensive and most luxurious trains all over the world.

Who runs and maintains the Maharajas Express?

The train entered into service in March 2010 and its working and maintenance was handled jointly by the ‘Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited’ and ‘Cox and Kings India Limited’ as a company named Royale Indian Rail Tours Limited(RIRTL). This joint venture was terminated on August 12, 2011 and from then, everything related to the Maharajas Express is being handled only by IRCTC.

Which awards have been won by Maharajas Express?

Maharajas Express is the most luxurious train of India and has won many awards:

  • The train has been voted as ‘The World’s Leading Luxury Train’ by The World Travel Awards five times in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016.
  • Awarded as the ‘Best Luxury Train’ by CNBC at the CNBC AWAAZ Travel Awards in 2010 and 2015.
  • Winner of the the Seven Stars Luxury Award in 2015 and 2016 for the category – ‘Luxury Hospitality and LifeStyle Awards’.
  • Maharajas Express was the first runner up at the Conde Nast Travelers Reader Choice Travel Award for the ‘Specialist Train Operators Category’.
  • Winner of ‘Excellence in Luxury’ at the Royal India, 2013 held in 2013.

What itineraries are followed by Maharajas Express?

Maharajas Express offer options of 5 journeys which includes visiting more than 12 significant destinations in India. Most of the destinations are in the North West and Central India. A lot of UNESCO World Heritage Sites are covered in the itineraries, covering the most interesting and breathtaking destinations, showing off the rich heritage of India. The itineraries include visiting natural parks, forts and palaces with a guide that assists the passengers in everything. Some destinations also include folk dance presentations for the entertainment of the passengers.
In total there are five journeys, from which three are long term journeys(seven nights/ eight days) and two are short term journeys(three nights/ four days).

  • Heritage of India
    This is a seven nights and eight days journey package offered by the Maharajas Express which starts from Mumbai and ends in Delhi. The vibrant destinations covered in this package are Mumbai, Ajanta, Udaipur, Jodhpur, Bikaner, Jaipur, Ranthambore, Agra and Delhi.
  • Treasures of India
    Treasures of India is a three nights and four days package that covers Delhi, Agra, Ranthambore, and Jaipur. Starting from Delhi, the journey also ends at Delhi itself.
  • Gems of India
    A three nights and four days package which includes visiting the most interesting destinations in India. Starting from Delhi and visiting destinations like Agra, Ranthambore and Jaipur, the journey ends when you return to Delhi.
  • Indian Panorama
    It’s a seven nights and eight days journey that includes destinations like Delhi, Jaipur, Ranthambore, Fatehpur Sikri, Agra, Gwalior, Orchha, Khajuraho, Varanasi and Lucknow.
  • The Indian Splendour
    The Indian Splendour is a seven nights and eight days package that includes visiting the following destinations – Delhi, Agra, Ranthambore, Jaipur, Bikaner, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Balasinor and Mumbai.

What facilities are available in the Maharajas Express?

The Maharajas Express is known for its luxurious hospitality and 5 star living facilities. The train offers you the same elegance and luxury that was enjoyed by the kings of India during their reigns. The coaches of the train are all named after precious stones.

  • Guest carriages
    There are 14 guest carriages in total in the Maharajas Express and have been categorised as Deluxe, Junior Suite, Suite and Presidential Suite. The train consists of 5 deluxe cabins, 6 junior suites, 2 suites and an elegant Presidential Suite. These carriages are available with dial phones, internet connections, temperature controls, LCD TVs, CCTV cameras in public places, ambulance services, washroom facilities etc.
  • Bar
    The Maharajas Express consists of a bar named Safari Bar. The availability of high class wines, spirits and cocktails will make your day.
  • Lounge
    The lounge is a warm and relaxing place for people who are looking for solitude or some peaceful time. It also houses board games, table games and books.
  • Dining Car
    There are two food courts in the Maharajas Express named the Mayur Mahal and the Rang Mahal. With a capacity to hold up to 42 people at a time, these luxurious restaurants in the train will have variety of delicious food.

With all the comfortable and luxurious facilities in the train, Maharajas Express has become the most preferred trains for the tourists. Since March 2010, the train has offered its services to the tourists for a perfect travel experience.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This